New to Saltwater Aquariums

Madison Area Reef Society - Club and reef discussion

Moderator: BraenDead

New to Saltwater Aquariums

Postby Bela on Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:35 am

I am new in this hobby and have been researching for a few weeks. Experienced and bored with tropical fish, I am excited about establishing a reef tank.
My experience so far with the retail market is most are trying to sell me something contrary to the research articles and books I've read.
I live in Elkhorn, Wisconsin but would be willing to travel up to Madison area to purchase my equipment.
Recommendations would be appreciated!

Thanks
Bela
Bela

Welcome

Postby causeofhim on Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:15 am

Welcome to a great club with great people! Read as much as you can here, http://www.nano-reef.com (if you are setting up a small aquarium), and reefcentral.com and ask many questions.

As far as purchasing equipment, research these sites and decide what you will really need for what kind of aquarium you will have (reef, fowlr, etc). Then check some of the online stores, make some phone calls to LFS to see if their costs are comparable and go from there. Always make up your mind before going to the LFS.

Look at the for sale areas on these sites as well, there are always good deals on equipment from other reefers.

Matt :D
causeofhim

Postby Brad_608 on Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:28 am

ditto

RC has a lot of equipment for sale but you have to consider shipping cost

Key thing is research before you buy
I'm unemployable Yeah
Brad_608

Postby friogatto on Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:28 pm

If you answer a few questions then people can give you their ideas on the items and whats needed. They also might be able to tell you where to find the best deals.

What size tank?
Fish only? Stony corals only? Soft corals only? Mixed Reef?
Are you converting an existing FW tank?
How much room do you have?
How many outlets do you have in that area?

There are a ton more but this will get us started.
friogatto

Newbee