Madison Area Reef Society - Club and reef discussion

Moderator: BraenDead

Postby ReefZoo on Thu Apr 21, 2005 9:58 pm

Hi all,

I recently stumbled upon this site while surfing around reefcentral.com. Needless to say, I was thrilled to find a reef group in the Madison area!

Although I'm new to reefkeeping, I've had fish for the majority of the past 10 years; mostly African Cichlids, but also some saltwater FOWLR tanks. The size of the tanks has ranged from 20 to 38 gallons.

One of the things I've always wanted to do, was build a tank into a wall! I recently purchased a home in Arena, where the basement was finished and had the perfect place to build it. I decided on a 75 gallon tank, which should look nice in that wall. So... here's where I'm at, followed by where I'd like to go:

I currently have the following:
75 gallon tank with all-glass versa top
Oddysea PC 4x65w lights with 4 moon lights
TetraTec 300 Power Filter and Heating Capsule (which is housed within the filter)
5 Maxi-Jet 900 Powerheads
"Starboard" bottom (white cutting board material)
Filter Direct RO/DI unit
Bucket of Instant Ocean Salt
Several Aquarium Pharmaceuticals test kits (Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, pH, Copper, Phosphates)
About 50 pounds of "dead" tonga branch and fiji rock (currently being revived in a friend's tank)
20g & 38g tank (to possibly use one as a refugium)

My next few purchases will include (in rough order):
Black or Midnight Blue Background
More live rock (25-50 lbs)
RHS-10ATC Salinity Refractometer
Aquaflotor 1000 Multi Protein Skimmer with Ocean Runner pump
Salifert test kits (Calcium, Alkalinity)
Red Sea Wavemaster Pro Wavemaker
Lifereef Overflow Box (if I add the refugium)