Hi...New to MARS

Talk about anything and everything non-club and non-reef related

Moderator: BraenDead

Hi...New to MARS

Postby Gawain on Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:40 pm

Well, not really new to MARS, but I figured it was high time I register and try to get more involved in a local reef club.

A little about myself: My name is Les, I'm a grad student in French at UW-Madison (currently working on my dissertation). I'm originally from Indiana and I moved up here to do my PhD. I'm known as Gawain1974 on Reefmonkey and ReefCentral, but I decided to drop the numbers (after all, I don't want everyone knowing my age, LOL).

I've been in the fish hobby since '92. After four years of fresh, I made the switch to the dark-side of salt. I've been reef since '01. My current tank is a 55 gallon stony system. My tank was primarily softies and LPS, but I upgraded all the equipment and "remodeled" the tank in February of this year to house primarily SPS and LPS. I'm slowly building up my collection of SPS. I don't know what the rules are for linking to other forums; if it's ok, I can throw a link out to my remodel thread on RM, or I can just post the highlights here.

I also have a 5.5 nano reef with a mantis shrimp (squila empusa) and a damsel that I bought for dinner, but hasn't been eaten yet (his name is Sushi). I also recently decided to setup a planted discus tank. At first, it was a 20 gallon with two small discus, but I just finished upgrading it this weekend to a 46 gallon bowfront.

I started working part-time at Aquatic Specialties in late February/early March, so I've met some of you at the store, and I look forward to meeting more of you. It'll be nice to know some locals since most of my other reefing friends are in other states.
Last edited by Gawain on Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:56 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Les
Gawain

Postby Gawain on Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:48 pm

Here are some random pics:

My 55 from last fall before the remodel:

After the remodel: