Tsunami AT1 auto top off

Buy, Sell, Trade, Extra Parts? List it here. Reef/tank-related only, please.

Moderator: BraenDead

Tsunami AT1 auto top off

Postby snorulz on Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:34 am

I have for sale a Tsunami AT1. I bought it off reef central. It turned out to it was not sensitive enough for my application so i never used it. I believe the guy i bought it from said it was new. I don't really remember exactly so i am considering it used. Its not covered in salt creep or lime or anything like that. It looks new. It is around a 2" range between high and low. I would like $30 but i am always willing to negotiate.
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton

Postby perpetual98 on Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:48 am

Why wasn't it sensitive enough for you? I'm thinking about setting up a new tank, so I might be in the market.
perpetual98
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 9:48 am
Location: Oconomowoc, WI

Postby know-it-all on Mon Oct 24, 2005 8:13 am

can you send a pick?
jeff@mahutatool.com

thanks,
I like to watch




the fish
know-it-all
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 3:50 pm
Location: Milwaukee

Postby snorulz on Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:03 am

The way my small refugium is designed i can't have 2" of change in water height. I will send a pic to you know-it-all later this evening, i will also then post one in my gallery. Sorry about the typos in the first post, i forgot to proof read.
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton

Postby perpetual98 on Mon Oct 24, 2005 10:10 am

But it would work fine in a sump I assume, where you can have that much fluctuation in a return section.
perpetual98
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 9:48 am
Location: Oconomowoc, WI

Postby Ereefic on Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:47 am

I'll add my experience with the AT-1 system. I had it running for roughy 8-12 months and never had a problem with it. I was using it to top off with RO water. I wanted to use it to top off with kalk water but, like said above, it is not sensitive enough for that IMO. It would of been adding too much, too fast.

The sensitivity of it varied from about a 1" to 2" drop in water capacity before it would switch on. One thing with this unit is it seemed to need a pretty calm water surface to be consistant.

But, if your looking for a top-off device for just fresh water, it's a good little device.
User avatar
Ereefic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:18 pm
Location: Janesville

Postby know-it-all on Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:53 am

Does it turn a pump on when the water level get's low?

right now, I'm just hoping it'll keep my sump with 4" of where it should be.
I like to watch




the fish
know-it-all
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 3:50 pm
Location: Milwaukee

Postby Ereefic on Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:53 pm

know-it-all, it does turn on a pump when the level drops. It works with a pressure switch. Once you get the sensor set, and the water level drops about an inch, it'll kick on a pump and fill the sump up and then shuts off. It keeps a consistant level.
User avatar
Ereefic
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1303
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 9:18 pm
Location: Janesville

Postby snorulz on Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:16 pm

I think ereefic answered all the questions so far. Thanks!! Please let me know if you have any more questions. I will send out the pics now and post them in my photo album on this site.
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton

Postby snorulz on Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:31 pm

One picture is posted in my gallery. Please note you will have to replace the suction cups, they are shot. I am told it is a mounting bracket from an mj1200. I personally would not want to use suction cups as they eventually let loose. I would recommend making a bracket of some sort. A second reason i have not mentioned for me not using it is my tank is on the second story of a 100 year old house. My mother refinished the hardwood floor in my room and the ceiling below has hand painted designs with a hardwood floor below that. If the switch were to fail in the on position i would be very broke. The main reason is due to the design on my refugium, it will not work. It will work very well in a sump or a different style refugium. Thanks
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton

Postby snorulz on Tue Oct 25, 2005 3:43 pm

sale is pending
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton

Postby snorulz on Sat Oct 29, 2005 10:29 am

sold to know-it-all
Thanks
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton

Postby know-it-all on Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:32 pm

got it and it works great

took some fine tuning, with a 75 gal. sump, 3" is 15 gallons to turn off the pump
I finally got it down to 10 gallons.
I like to watch




the fish
know-it-all
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 3:50 pm
Location: Milwaukee

Postby snorulz on Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:37 pm

glad to hear you could get it where you want it. Enjoy!!!!!
snorulz
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Milton


Return to Buy, Sell, Trade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests